Ben Franklin Blog

The blog of the band Ben Franklin from NY and NJ

Listening

leave a comment »

I’ve been gobbling up a lot of new music lately. I need to hear new things, and I’ve had a dearth of that for a long time. Sarah sent me Visiter by The Dodos and it’s wonderful. Drastic folk music, with really great lyrics, instrumentation, percussion. Very heavy on the percussion, which strikes me as far more appropriate than what usually happens in folk music. But what do I know?

The Loud Wars by So Many Dynamos is really phenomenal. I can’t believe I didn’t know about this band and they’ve been around for a few years now. It’s like if D-Plan and Battles had a kid. “If You Don’t Want to Know” is one of the most lyrically interesting and awesome songs I’ve heard in a while, never mind the great music.

Hot Probs by Tea Cozies is really pretty, although for me it’s not a sit-all-the-way-through kinda record.

The self-titled record by Real Estate is really interesting in terms of texture. Can’t understand a word the guy is saying, but the music is great dreamy stuff, perfect for cleaning the house on a Sunday. It’s breezy and cool, it’s my kind of Summer music. It’s like Surf music done by people who’s approach is exactly opposite of Dick Dale and Daikaiju. Instead of shredding waves, you’re bobbing up and down on them on your board, it’s dawn, the stars are still out, and you’re just watching.

~Billy

Written by Ben Franklin

January 8, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

