Ben Franklin Blog

The blog of the band Ben Franklin from NY and NJ

May 1st at Kilk’s

with one comment

A big thanks is due to Jenn Schwartz of Una Pong for putting together a really fantastic night over at Kilkenny Ale House last Saturday in Newark, NJ, the Brick City. The PA in that place is freaking excellent — we’ve never sounded so clear, all vocals could be heard (aside from our poor drummer, no boom stand mics!) and it was a lot of damn fun. I don’t think we’ve ever played so fast, and ironically it was for the most part pretty tight aside from a couple “oh shit” moments we had here and there.

Thanks also to everyone who came out, you guys are fantastic!

The other bands were great, I’m glad we were on this bill. Frozen Gentlemen played a tight and mean set, with a couple of new jams thrown in there. Fist-pumping, crazy dancing fun. Zed Never played a kind of “we do NOT give a fuck” rock that seemed like a mix of post-punk/hardcore and straight up garage rock. I half expected the lead singer and bassist to launch into a Motörhead cover, or perhaps Shellac, on top of all that. Killing the Messenger sounded fantastic to my vantage point, but they were on last and I was outside catching up with an old friend and getting some respite (after I play, I’m usually drained of all energy, and there’s nothing I want more than to Go Outside, hear things that aren’t as loud as rock bands, so I inevitably end up missing somebody’s performance).

Written by Ben Franklin

May 3, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wish I could have made it out, but I was beat after my first day of work and had to wake up super early the next day. Glad to hear this awesome show was going on in my town.

    Star

    May 3, 2010 at 4:03 pm


Leave a Reply

