Ben Franklin Blog

The blog of the band Ben Franklin from NY and NJ

Those are very bad women; I can see it in all their actions

leave a comment »

A passage from our Autobiography:

At Newport we took in a number of passengers for New York [before the Interstate Highway System, we used boats], among which were two young women, companions, and a grave, sensible, matron-like Quaker woman [remember Quakers??], with her attendants. I had shown an obliging readiness to do her some little services, which impress’d her I suppose with a degree of good will toward me; therefore, when she saw a daily growing familiarity between me and the two young women, which they appear’d to encourage, she took me aside, and said, “Young man, I am concern’d for thee, as tho has no friend with thee, and seems not to know much of the world, or of the snares youth is expos’d to [I had already smoked weed at this point, but I decid’d against telling her]; depend upon it, those are very bad women; I can see it in all their actions; and if thee art not upon thy guard, they will draw thee into some danger; they are strangers to thee, and I advise thee, in a friendly concern for thy welfare, to have no acquaintance with them.”

Met a lot of interesting strangers in my life.

Written by Ben Franklin

November 17, 2010 at 10:13 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

